Public Relations and AP Style Writing

Last week in my introduction to public relations class, our professor discussed the importance of using Associated Press style writing. Throughout the class I have realized that writing is one of, if not the most, important aspects for a public relations practioners to possess. Also, in my news reporting and writing class I was taught the basics of Associated Press style and taught that journalists are required to use this method unless writing a feature story. It was not until last week that I became aware of the fact that publicists should use this method as well. One of the most important aspects of this writing style is the inverted pyramid. This is the basic formula used to structure your entire news release. The inverted pyramid is simple actually, you begin the story with the most important information including the who, what, when, why and how of the story. You then continue the article giving supporting details to the main subject. This is employed as a way to get your point across quickly to journalists whose time is precious. I was very happy to see that the AP style writing is something I will be using in the my professional future because I spent a lot of time in my journalism classes perfecting my usage of it.

May 1, 2009. Responses.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

