Public Relations Legally Speaking

This week in my Public Relations writing class we have been focusing on the legal side of the profession. Idea’s such as copyrighting, trademarking, defamation, libel, fair comment and invasion of privacy have been discussed at length and to be perfectly honest, it’s all a little overwhelming.
I realize that as a professional in the public relations field I must gain a rather vast knowledge of media law, however, that has not made learning it any less stressful. This summer I actually took a course entitled Media Law and it was absolutely one of the toughest in my college career. I always had the upmost respect for lawyers but after taking in just a tiny iota of what these people have to know makes me respect them immensely.
I truly believe that law is one of those discplines where you must immerse yourself in it. By that I mean reading up on cases and staying up to date on what is going on in the legal world. This being said I was able to find this news article about a P.R. pro who has just been indicted for the third time. So, while this legal “stuff” may seem overwhleming now, I would imagine the ramifications for declining to become knowledgeable on the appropriate principles is far worse!

September 4, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

