Diversity at Georgia Southern University

Diversity at Georgia Southern University is a little tricky to tell you the truth. From a student population stand point there seems to be a high percentage of caucausian students followed by a medium percentage of african-american students. With the exception of a few, this seems to be the majority of students represented at this school. I could not tell you why this is the case. I think some of it might have to do with the rural/small town/ southern georgia location of the school that does not draw in many different races and/or cultures.

Although a variety of cultural groups may not be represented in the student population, I believe the school is taking many efforts to broaden the horizons of its students by cultivating various events centered around diversity. The International Coffee Hour is held every friday morning where students gather and discuss various topics. Another example of GSU’s determination to educate the school’s population about different culture’s is the French Week that occurred just a couple of week’s ago. Everyday that week a different event occurred that was centered around french cuisine, films, and many other french oriented events. The point I am trying to make here is that there are plenty of opportunities to become a more cultured person by means of Georgia Southern’s campus activities.

However, we all know that just because something is available does not mean that people will take advantage of the opportunity. I have a rather large group of friends and school peers and I know for a fact that they are not participating or observing the different diversity events located on campus. I honestly must say that before this semester I really hadn’t attended many events on the diversity calendar and, unfortunately, if I did, it was to fulfill a requirement set out by a professor for a grade. I believe this is the case for the majority of students at GSU and I wonder why this is so? It makes me ponder the values the students at GSU possess as a whole. Are we a population of self-involved ethnocentric ignoramus? I hope not but when all these fantastic opportunities are practically being thrown at us and we simply turn a deaf ear, what other conclusions can one come to? The only other excuse I can muster is a lack of marketing for the different events. However, I think that piece of this saddening puzzle is just fine, I think the apathetic attitudes of GSU students for different cultures is the real issue here. I don’t know how but I do know something has to change because this is a debilitating mindset that will negatively affect us in the long run.

November 17, 2009. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Andrews replied:

    College is a great time in many people lives because they use it to focus on them, not others. When the focus is on others, as you stated, it is to fulfill an assignment. You have to keep in mind that we are a society that, unfortunately, grooms students to work for a grade, not an experience. Not everyone has this focus, but it tends to be the norm.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

