Eagle Expo and Graduation Fair

On Wednesday, February 24, Georgia Southern University held its annual Eagle Expo and Graduation Fair. I was a little hesitant to attend since last year many of my peers attended and came back empty handed. But, the job market is scarily bad and I thought to myself, “Why not give this a try”?

The information I had going into the Eagle Expo and Graduation Fair was sufficient, although I could have used a few more facts and figures to be honest. They did provide a list of employers that would be present, so any company you felt a pull toward you could easily research them prior to the fair.

The fair was held from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. I am usually working at my internship at Savannah magazine during these hours, but was provided with a day off to visit the Eagle Expo and Graduation Fair. Truly, I would just love to get a job with Savannah magazine, unfortunately they are not hiring due to low numbers of subscriptions and the economy.

After viewing the list for the career fair, I wasn’t personally very impressed. I don’t mean this in the sense that reputable companies were not represented, but more so that companies in Atlanta were few and far between. I am making the move back to Atlanta after graduating so this was a deal breaker for me.

I wore business casual dress, black pants and a button down shirt. I walked around the expo for about 45 minutes and talked to several people from many different companies. I wasn’t blown away by anyone, however, I thought it would be a good opportunity to practice for interviews and such. Also, as a public relations major, I recognize that any opportunity to make connections, even if you think you will never need to rely on those individuals, is a good opportunity.

Overall, I would give it a satisfactory rating. It really wasn’t the right avenue for me, however I am positive many students came out of the Eagle Expo and Graduation Fair with an interview!

Switching gears a little here, my assignment was to right about a Career Services event or seminar, but I would like to take a moment to sufficiently praise Career Services resume revising service. I e-mailed my resume to a woman working in Career Services. We then set up a time to meet at the Career Services Center and went through my resume, cover letter, and reference page. I was blown away at the incredible advice I received. Things I would have never thought to change were brought to my attention in a highly constructive way. After revamping my entire resume package, I have received several comments on the clarity and strength of the resume.

Long story short, If you go to Georgia Southern USE THIS RESOURCE! I swear to you it is well worth the hour-long meeting. I also have a mock-interview coming up that I am very excited about and have heard great things about this tool as well. Get to it guys!

April 23, 2010. Public Relations Practicum.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

